How do you create a custom field with the number of child floors?


I’m trying to create a custom field in the triBuilding BO, which will allow me to see how many child floors that a building has. I guess that I have to use a Classification Rollup field, but I’m not having any luck with the result. I’m configuring it like this:

  • Field Type: Classification Rollup
  • Name: cstFloorQuantity
  • Label: cstFloorQuantity
  • Rollup Source: Classification
  • Rollup Type: Quantity
  • Root Classification: (I don’t know what to choose. I’m not able to choose a location in here.)

I also think I have to change “Quantity” in the triFloor BO mapping, but I don’t know what to choose here. Could someone give me a clue? Thanks in advance.

I think that the simplest way to accomplish this is to create a numeric field, and use an extended formula that maps the sum count of a query that returns the child floors of the parent building. The query would be written against floor, and would have an association filter of “Is Parent Of”. I’m pretty sure you’d need a “count” field on the floor with a default value of 1 for the sum to work properly.

Continue reading

Leave a Reply

