Why does IBM TRIRIGA Support need your version information?


What you can do to help is to provide this version information up front when you open a PMR. I suggest keeping a document with the environment configuration information. Having been on the client side of this picture, I know how I ended up making the IBM PMR process easier for myself. Knowing that I would be asked version information right out of the gate, I kept a document which had the version information for the main product as well as versions of other products in our configuration that could have an impact, in any possible way, to the problem being reported. I found that this greatly smoothed out the initial response from the support team I was working with and also led to quicker turnaround time on the PMRs I submitted.

While I cannot guarantee that the PMR turnaround time will be significantly improved, it should at least reduce multiple communications regarding the configuration of an environment. The main reason for back and forth about version information that I have seen is that the support team assumes the information provided will be all that is initially required to work the problem. While working and researching the issue, we may come to find that we need some additional version information (think operating system, third-party tool versions, etc.). Having the information up front when you open the PMR should prevent this from happening…

Continue reading

One thought on “Why does IBM TRIRIGA Support need your version information?

  1. Pingback: Why does Support need to know your deployment schedule? | TRIRIGAFEEDIA

Leave a Reply

