Do you need to clear server cache if floor plans aren’t visible?


After performing a TRIRIGA platform upgrade, some of the floor plans are not visible in the forms. Why aren’t they visible?

The TRIRIGA server cache needs to be refreshed. In other words, you need to clear the caches and restart the server. Here are more-detailed steps to clear your TRIRIGA cache and log folder:

  1. Login to the Admin Console.
  2. Go to the “Cache Manager” managed object.
  3. Click on the “All Caches (Global)” link and then “Hierarchy Tree Data – with rebuild” link. The process might take some time.
  4. Go to the “Database Manager” managed object, and click on the “Reprocess published drawings” link. Give the process some time to finish. Go to the current server log, and look for a related entry saying that the reprocess published drawing actions are finished. You will find a message similar to the following:
    “INFO [com.tririga.platform.graphics.vector.drawing.DrawingService](http-0.0.0.0-21001-7) Finished re-processing drawings”
  5. Logout of the Admin Console.
  6. Stop the TRIRIGA JVMs via the WebSphere Admin Console.
  7. Delete the logs in the <TRIRIGA install>/log folder that has server.log.
  8. Clear the WebSphere temporary cache folder.
  9. Restart the TRIRIGA JVMs via the WebSphere Admin Console.

[Admin: This post is related to the 07.15.16 post about floor plan graphics disappearing after an upgrade, and the 09.29.14 post about clearing the TRIRIGA application server cache area. To see other related posts, use the “floor plan” or “clear cache” search phrase.]

Continue reading

What is the purpose of the TRI_REORG_ANALYSIS table?


We are working on a DB2-to-Oracle migration for TRIRIGA 3.5.2/10.5.2 by using SQL*Loader. The TRI_REORG_ANALYSIS table recently caught our eye. This table exists in DB2, but does not exist in Oracle. But today, after we generated a new DB2 backup, this table is no longer there.

My question is: Is this a temporary table used for calculation or cache purposes?

Continue reading

IV94364: Platform not committing temp data for “Audit All Data”


When “Audit All Data” is turned on for a BO, the TRIRIGA platform is not correctly committing temporary data for records based on that business object. It appears that the “Save Permanent Record” workflow tasks (which are meant to commit temporary data for records of the BO) are trying to execute an audit of the object before it is created.

We needed to catch the SmartObjectNotFound exception… when smart section instance data is not committed, the parent record is committed, and “Audit All Data” is enabled. We improved how the exception is processed when temporary data is committed on a business object with auditing.

Continue reading

Can you remove TRIRIGA BIRT report files from /tmp folder in Linux?


Can the IBM TRIRIGA BIRT report files be removed from /tmp folder in Linux? We can see BIRT-related files in the Linux /tmp folder being generated from the TRIRIGA user sessions… Can these files be removed from the system on a regular basis?

Yes, they can be removed. You can remove those BIRT temporary files from the /tmp folder if they are at least 2 days old, even if the system is up and running (no need to shut it down). We do not expect user sessions holding BIRT report rendering for more than 1 day, but we are letting it go 2 days for security. For new versions (3.5 and onward), this works better and we do not expect to have a large amount of BIRT-report related files in the /tmp folder (but this may happen for older versions).

Continue reading

When and how do you clean up application server temp files?


Over time, the temp (temporary) directory may fill up with files on the application server or process server. You may want to clean up these files over time, it is generally safe to delete files over 2 days old. We suggest setting up a cronjob (Linux/Unix) or Scheduled Task (Windows) that deletes temp files owned by the user running the TRIRIGA application, over 2 days old.

As an example, on a Linux environment, the following command can be placed into a shell script file, then run nightly at 1 am.

(1) Shell script file: /path/to/script/cleanTririgaTemp.sh

find -mtime +2 -user tririga -exec rm {} \;

(2) Don’t forget to chmod to make it executable:

chmod u+x /path/to/script/cleanTririgaTemp.sh

(3) Then run crontab -e and set the script to run daily at 1am:

0 1 * * * /path/to/script/cleanTririgaTemp.sh

Continue reading

Does IBM TRIRIGA support multiple browser tabs for same server?


Does IBM TRIRIGA support multiple tabs on an internet browser for the same server? I want to open multiple tabs to open new sessions for the same server. Does IBM TRIRIGA support that?

No, this is not supported. Use a different internet browser instance or product for this purpose. When you open a connection to a server, the internet browser instance running will create files into the temporary folder or directory for that on the local or client machine. This includes cookies and authorization token information as well.

If you use the same internet browser instance and open multiple tabs accessing the same server, this will use the same temporary folder or directory area on the local or client machine. The same file names (conventions) will be used also since this is the same server being accessed. The second tab will be replacing the previous files and losing the connection information, and then invalidating any access to that server from that user.

Continue reading

How do you clear a locator field with an OnChange workflow?


I’m using the locator field and taking advantage of the mapping functionality to cross over fields from the mapped object to the targeted object. However, I’ve noticed that when I click the “X” button next to my locator field on the form to clear the value, the mapped field does not get cleared out. I still want to retain the locator field functionality, because it works great if the user just selects or changes the locator field value, and it updates the mapped referenced fields. However, the flaw is when the user clears out the locator field value.

If I retain the locator field, can I use an OnChange workflow to clear out the mapped fields from the locator field, if the locator field is set to null? If I use an OnChange workflow, should I use a Permanent Retrieve or Temporary Data?

You can use an OnChange workflow on a locator field to remove the mapped value. Using a permanent or temp data depends on your business logic. The workflow will fire from an OnChange of the locator field value.

Continue reading